Wales Book of the Year


Administered by Literature Wales and funded by the Arts Council of Wales, Wales Book of the Year is an annual prize which is awarded to the best Welsh and English-language works in Wales of the previous year. Established in 1992, it covers Fiction, Poetry and Creative Non-Fiction, with a winner in each respective group both in Welsh and English (the winner of the English-language poetry prize is also titled the Roland Mathias Poetry Award winner).

There is then an overall winner selected from all three chosen category winners who takes home the coveted Wales Book of the Year award with an extra £6,000 on top of the £2,000 for being chosen at the top of their group. The winner is announced at the award ceremony in the Summer after the confirmation of the short list in the Spring.

Previous winners include:

2014 – Owen Sheers, Pink Mist (poetry)

2013 – Rhian Edwards, Clueless Dogs (poetry)

2012 – Patrick McGuinness, The Last Hundred Days (fiction)

You can see the full list here.

There is also a People’s Choice Award which allows the public to vote for their favourites from the short list, run with Wales Online.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s